top of page


Strive to Achieve

The Wing Chun System is split into 3 empty handed forms, 2 weapons form and one form using apparatus. The three empty hands are:

Siu Lim Tao 小念頭  - Way of the Little Idea

The first and most important form, is to be practiced throughout the practitioner's lifetime. It is the foundation or "seed" of the art, on which all succeeding forms and techniques depend. Fundamental rules of balance and body structure are developed here.

Chum Kiu 尋橋 - Seeking the Bridge

The second form, Chum Kiu, focuses on coordinated movement of body mass and entry techniques to "bridge the gap" between practitioner and opponent, and move in to disrupt their structure and balance. Close-range attacks using the elbows and knees are also developed here.

Biu Jee 標指  - Thrusting Fingers

The third form, and the last form Biu Ji, is composed of extreme short-range and extreme long-range techniques, low kicks and sweeps, and "emergency techniques" to counter-attack when structure and centreline have been seriously compromised, such as when the practitioner is seriously injured

Baat Cham Dao 八斩刀 - Eight Slashing Knives

A form involving a pair of large "Butterfly Knives", slightly smaller than short swords (Dao), as their blade is usually between 11-15 inches. Historically the knives were also referred to as Dit Ming Dao ("Life-Taking Knives"). The Baat Jaam Do form and training methods teach advanced footwork, and develop additional power and strength in both stance and technique. The Baat Jaam Do also help to cultivate a fighting spirit, as the techniques are designed to slaughter the enemy.

Luk Dim Bun Kwan 六点半棍 - Six and Half Point Pole

Also referred to as "Dragon Pole" the "Six and A Half Point Pole". There are 7 principles of Luk Dim Boon Kwan:


Lan-to expand



Gwot-cut down 



The name six and a half point pole comes from these 7 principles, with the last principle: Lau, or Flowing counting as half a point.

Muk Yan Jong 木人樁 - Wooden Dummy

Muk Yan Jong is performed on a wooden dummy which serves as an intermediate tool that helps the student to use Wing Chun Kuen against another human opponent. Muk Yan Jong is demonstrated by using a wooden Wing Chun dummy as an opponent.

Chi Sau 黐手 - Sticking Hands

Chi Sau  is a term for the principle and drills used for the development of automatic reflexes upon contact and the idea of "sticking" to the opponent (also known as "sensitivity training"). In reality, the intention is not to "stick" to your opponent at all costs, but rather to protect your centerline while simultaneously attacking your opponent's centerline.


Traditionally Wing Chun does not have a grading system so, to give students a guide and a level to strive for,  the following grading system was devised:

1) Red Sash, Siu Lim Tao Levels 1 to 4. 

2) Green Sash, Chum Kiu Levels 1 to 4.

3) Brown Sash level 1 to 4, Biu Gee

4) Black Sash level 1 - Muk Yan Jong - Wooden Dummy

5) Black Sash level 2 - Baat Cham Dao - Eight Cutting Swords (aka Butterfly Knives)

6) Black Sash level 3-  Luk Dim Boon Kwun - 6 1/2 Point Pole

7) Black Sash Level 4 - Sifu

The system sequentially teaches the student the various aspects of the wing chun system and will help motivation by setting future goals. Each student will be assessed on each level the assessments is based on a few things:

  1.  Skill (appropriate to that level)

  2.  Attitude

  3. Attendance (both before and after assessment)

If any of the above is lacking the student will either not be given or forfeit a level.

A Full version of our detailed syllabus is available on request in Class.

bottom of page